Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Modelsim vs ISE : usage of internal devices.

Status
Not open for further replies.

speedman

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
modelsim 6.4+compxlib

Hi All,

I'm a novice in fgpa design. I worked on small asic design and now I'm design on xilinx fpga.

I don't understand how use correctly eda tools.

I mean :

I start with the schematic editor in ISE to choose the right devices and top-level design. I'm using a DCM and a FIFO.

After this I would simulate with modelsim but I dont know how link the library.

I read that on other simulator, as Active hdl, there are precompiled library for fpga. But not for modelsim.

How I can do this ?

A more general question : How the correct way to work ? Do you start form ISE to add embedded device by Architecture Wizard ? Or from an other tool and, in this case, only component and generic for embedded device.

Someone can clarify me how do this ?

speedman

ise vs modelsim

See if this helps

**broken link removed**

ise compile modelsim library

:| Thank you, but isn't my case.

I work with modelsim se and not xe. With xe no additional operation on library is needed but only init addition. This is what I read on xilinx and on the doc that you linked.

Who worl with modelsim SE ? Addional compilation is indicated on Xilinx site. But I dont known how to do it.

Please.....help me!

modelsim 6.4 ise

in modelsim 6.4 library are already compiled u have to only add these from its location...in its lower version u have to compile libraries
core gen
sim prim
unisim
in this way u can link d libraries

way 2 work on ISE navigator