Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Boundary Reflections on FDTD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luisito

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm kinda new to FDTD, I would like to know why there are boundary reflections on FDTD if we dont impose any boundary conditions; I cant really tell this phenomena from the FDTD equations.

Thanks

In FDTD, the fields are known only at discrete points. Maxwell's equations are approximated using finite-differences which generates one equation for every field component at every point. These equations include field components at surrounding points. At the edge of your grid, you will be required to include a field component that is outside of your grid which really doesn't exist.

The manner in which you handle this is called a boundary condition. This is not to be confused with "boundary conditions" you learned in EM theory 101 where tangential fields are continuous, etc. At first, you might think you can handle this in some manner by simply storing one more layer of grid cells around your grid, but this leads to the same problem for the equations written for the fields in the new grid points you added.

The two most common boundary conditions are Dirichlet and Periodic Boundary conditions. To be clear, what you may read as the "Perfectly Matched Layer" is not really a boundary condition in the sense that it doesn't prescribe how to handle the problem you encounter implementing the finite-difference equations at the edge of your grid.