+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 1,111, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,111
    Level
    7

    microblaze spartan

    Hi, im a studnet who needes to create a routine/routines that take readings from 2 SPI bus sensors (pressure & temp) and the microblaze must take these readings and when the values of they're inputs reach a certain level/treshold the spartan board must activate a 12volt dc pump to spray water for a set period of time....then repeat the process.

    Can anyone send me some VHDL code to get me started or explain to me how i would go about this?

    Best Regards

    Arthur[/b]

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 3,662, Level: 14

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    161
    Helped
    18 / 18
    Points
    3,662
    Level
    14

    Re: microblaze spartan 3 vhdl routines needed!!

    Hi,
    there is a complete SPI core available free here : http://www.opencores.org/projects.cgi/web/spi/overview .
    You may connect this core to your MB and write some C code to read your data and activate the output device.

    You need to do some research to understand the core . Once you do that your project is almost ready.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 936, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    12
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    936
    Level
    6

    Re: microblaze spartan 3 vhdl routines needed!!

    Hi,
    why don't you consider using PicoBlaze?
    Unless you aim to implement other complicated tasks,PicoBlaze will be very convenient for you.

    You may check this http://www.xilinx.com/products/board...dc_control.zip

    best regards,
    Mostafa M. Amer



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 1,111, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,111
    Level
    7

    Re: microblaze spartan 3 vhdl routines needed!!

    hi, do i have to use C for the spi core, cant i use VHDL?

    Also the spec of this project cant be changed im afraid so its Microblaze and spartan 3 with spi based sensors...



  5. #5
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 3,662, Level: 14

    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    161
    Helped
    18 / 18
    Points
    3,662
    Level
    14

    Re: microblaze spartan 3 vhdl routines needed!!

    If you want to implement your SPI interface yourself, you may use VHDL, but once you have your data red from your SPI devices, you need some C code to process it in your MB to drive your output.



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 1,111, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    13
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,111
    Level
    7

    Re: microblaze spartan 3 vhdl routines needed!!

    Ok, so im not very experienced in programming in C or Vhdl.

    What would i have to declare or initialise to get started for my MB to read the SPI sensors, do you have any examples i could use as a ref ?



--[[ ]]--