Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me choose topology for SMPS design

Status
Not open for further replies.

milad_omidi

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi ,
I want to 1 KW implement a switching power supply,
with typical output DC voltage of 28 12 and ..
where Can I start from?
(I am new in the field!)

Regards,

split-pi schematic

is it mains fed.....? or battery?

you will need a power factor corrector for mains fed.

then say a full bridge would be good.

Get a PWM chip with the features you want and go on from there......

schematic smps 2 ir2110

it's a mains fed,

my main problem is which topology to use?
I need buck-boost, Highly efficient design , with multiple output voltages.

Why a full bridge?
what about split-pi or "resonant zero voltage" switched ?

Regarding this webpage: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Switched-mode_power_supply
I selected split-pi since it has very high efficiency but i'm not sure if it is really ok?
I don't really need a bi-directional supply! but i need a highly effiecent one,

Thanks

split-pi circuit

The split-pi topology does not contain any special properties, which makes it more efficient than any other topology.
So do not choose it simply because Wikipedia recommends it.

Based on the information you have supplied I would go for the full bridge as well. It can be made to provide high efficiency and it is the logical choice to the power level you need.

Depending on your application you may face a requirement of providing a high power factor.