Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using 8 IO pins from CPU to control 16 outputs with 74373 chip

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nora

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
This was posted already in the wrong forum, so it's repeat.

I need to use 8 IO pins from my CPU to control 16 outputs.
I'm thinking about using a 74__373 type chip to do this.
I've never used this type chip before so would appreciate any experienced knowledge...
Is this a good way to do what I need to do or are there any other suggestions?
Thanks in advance!
N_N

74hc574 i/o

there are lots of ways to achieve this. You can use a shift register in which case you only need 2 pins (3 pins if your shift register has an output latch) and do it with software. Use a 74HC595 for this.

If you want to use 8 pins the 74HC373 is good. If you are making your own board you can also try the 74HC574, same as 373 but the input is directly opposite the output (easier for running tracks on your board).

If the data is bi-directional you can use the 74HC245.

What micro controller are you using, PIC, AVR, 8051?

latch 74373 schematic

I'm using a Motorola DSP.
Can you explain a little more the first version?
Yes, I am making my own board so the suggestion of the tracks directly opposite is very helpful!

edit* The data is not bidirectional, but I will repeat the same with 8 pins and 16 inputs.
Thanks!
N_N

d latch use?

This should help you out.

If you use two 74HC164's you need 2 pins to make 16 output pins.
If you use two 74HC595's you need 3 pins to make 16 output pins.