Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How can i make the power factor of a machine equal to 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hina_Rubab

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
reactive power compensation wikipedia

i have to submit this assignment tomorrow ... i am not very good at electrical machines .... can anybody help me out with this ... and tell me in what ways can we make the power factor of a machine equal to one ... i have to tell a number of ways and not just one way .. and i am clueless about the whole thing
thanks in advance

how to create a power factor load

You are talking of asynchronous AC motors (or generators)?

They have an inductive impedance and a 0.6 to 0.7 power factor (cos phi) typically at nominal load.

- capacitor banks can be used for reactive power compensation. They can be included with the machine (individual compensation) or placed at a plant's power distribution (common compensation). The latter mostly uses automatic adaption by a power factor controller.

- electronical power circuits (involving PWM operated IGBT) can be used for compensation of reactive power and harmonics at the same time

- synchronous machines can be used to generate respecively consume reactive power by varying the excitation current.

power factor =1

its nothing like that in particular ..... we have any machine which has a stator ( field poles) and rotor (armature) and now we want to make its power factor one ... this is what the task is

plant cos phi compensation