Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me with gate level simulation using VCS

Status
Not open for further replies.

balasub

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am new to gate level sim..
I got a netlist and a sdf file post Place & Route...

Now i am trying to simulate the same using the same verification env. used for normal RTL simulation.

I am using VCS.

I am getting some fails rit at the beginning of my simulation.

What are various things i need to keep an eye on in debugging this.

Please help!

Thanks!

gate sim debug help

One of the things that you will most likely encountered in gate sim with timing is synchronizers failing timing checks, that is if you have it enabled. Instead of changing your stimulus to avoid this, what's typically done is either disable timing checks on those synchronizers or hack the sdf file and zeroed out the timing check numbers (setup/hold/etc. values), which in effect is like disable timing checks on those instances. VCS support disabling timing checks on a per instance basis or for the entirely. If you have Verdi, then you can easily trace the X's back to it's source and find these synchronizers or just ask the designers.

- Hung

gate sim with -ve delays

You have to take care of many things during gate sims run.

1. If you are using same RTL simulation verification enviroment for gate sims then you have to put some delay while driving the inputs as here setup and hold come in picture.

2. You have to initialize all uninitialized fllops.

3. Disable the timing checks of all sync flops.