Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DOT-matrix display(LED matrix) points for a good design.

Status
Not open for further replies.

leoren_tm

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
led matrix display

hello to all!!!i have a problem please help me.
Im new to Dot-matrix, i only had a byte of knowlegde on 8x8 dot matrix, and now im planning to use a dual Dot-matrix..
im using 8051 microcontroller(at89c2051), and now my problem is designing a Dual-matrixdisplay..
please suggest me a good circuit configuration,that would be capable, if i extend my 8x8 or shall i say a multiple 8x8 dot-matrix. i encountered shift register....but i dont know yet its limitation. or a link for any good dual dot matrix.
regards..
im also thinking that the shiftong of my display, would be handle more on the harware part...but not much connection...its because, for my processor to be efficient(if a hardware can do a thing, let the harware)

led matrix proteus

Visit https://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Components/FYM-20881ABxx.pdf for a datasheet. It is just one of many dual-color matrices available.

If you have driven a single color matrix. What you need to do first is drive 2 or three at once. You should use 74595 shift register to input data to columns and use 7445N to select rows using 1/8 scanning method.

Then for the dual color, scheme is the same except, in single color you had one 74595 for each matrix, now you will have two. 4094 is much better than 74595 for driving dual color matrices.

Let me know if you need further help.

leoren_tm

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
dot matrix display tutorial