+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 2,075, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    12
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    2,075
    Level
    10

    what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    It should be a process at final stage of ASIC design, but I don't know it's accurate meaning

  2. #2
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,967, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    114
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    1,967
    Level
    10

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    in-place optimization



  3. #3
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 3,442, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    331
    Helped
    7 / 7
    Points
    3,442
    Level
    13

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    hi,
    in detail, that means after synthesis and p&r, if ur designs seems some tiny timing violation. u can use ipo in your synthesis tool and it will do jobs as follows: buffer insertion, cell resize , etc. but dont change your existing logic.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 5,126, Level: 16

    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    mozambic
    Posts
    233
    Helped
    11 / 11
    Points
    5,126
    Level
    16

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    I think you do IPO in your layout tool not synthesis?!#!



  5. #5
    Newbie level 5
    Points: 1,689, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    10
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,689
    Level
    9

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    Severy tools can perform IPO for your design,
    e.g., DC and SoC encounter .



  6. #6
    Junior Member level 2
    Points: 1,917, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    22
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,917
    Level
    10

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    Use magma , it will do the IPO for you



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  7. #7
    Member level 2
    Points: 2,391, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    52
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    2,391
    Level
    11
    It's more in P&R now in those days.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  8. #8
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 1,776, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,776
    Level
    9
    I have use it in DC



  9. #9
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 1,805, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,805
    Level
    9

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    "Initial Public Offering" - but this is a joke after all these serious answers

    FPGA Guru



  10. #10
    Member level 3
    Points: 2,238, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    China
    Posts
    63
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    2,238
    Level
    10

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    In-place optimization

    You can use IPO to MODIFY/CORRECT function/bug!



  11. #11
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,719, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    34
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    1,719
    Level
    9
    In-place Optimization for correct
    or
    I-Pray-Oh-god for joke



  12. #12
    Full Member level 5
    Points: 1,993, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    241
    Helped
    13 / 13
    Points
    1,993
    Level
    10

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    i think its related to some Intellectual process operations....but am not sure..



  13. #13
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 4,907, Level: 16

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    452
    Helped
    78 / 78
    Points
    4,907
    Level
    16

    what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    IPO= Idiots Professional Organization



  14. #14
    Member level 4
    Points: 1,375, Level: 8
    pratap_v's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    71
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    1,375
    Level
    8

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    hi
    IPO stands for in place optimisation. This is actually done after floorplan. And actually done during the placement. IPO is done to increase the chances of meeting ur design timing reqiurements which include buffer insertion and resizing of cells and moving the cell instances.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  15. #15
    Member level 3
    Points: 1,737, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    62
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    1,737
    Level
    9

    Re: what does the word 'IPO' stand for?

    It stands for in-place-optimisation.. And it happens during the placement stage.



--[[ ]]--