+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member level 2
    Points: 2,118, Level: 10
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    ehsan_r34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    45
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,118
    Level
    10

    Hspice error

    Please tell me why the following error occured in Hspice?
    my circuit is a switched cap circuit.

    " **error**: internal timestep too small in transient analysis"

    Please answer me as soon as possible.
    Thanx

    Added after 2 hours 19 minutes:

    Can i increase the resolution of the analysis of Hspice?

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 4,135, Level: 15

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    shanghai,china
    Posts
    453
    Helped
    28 / 28
    Points
    4,135
    Level
    15

    Hspice error

    it's the convergence problem.
    i suggest you use the spectre as simulator to simulate switch cap circuit.



  3. #3
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 2,117, Level: 10
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    141
    Helped
    14 / 14
    Points
    2,117
    Level
    10

    Hspice error

    Increase the no of points in the .options statement

    Added after 19 seconds:

    THis will solve your convergence issue



  4. #4
    Junior Member level 3
    Points: 1,514, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    28
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    1,514
    Level
    8

    Hspice error

    try to give some initial condition



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  5. #5
    Full Member level 6
    Points: 7,763, Level: 21

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    336
    Helped
    20 / 20
    Points
    7,763
    Level
    21

    Hspice error

    Add .ic or .nodeset can help.



  6. #6
    Full Member level 4
    Points: 2,518, Level: 11

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    194
    Helped
    20 / 20
    Points
    2,518
    Level
    11

    Re: Hspice error

    In SC circuits, this kind of error often be appeared in Hspice simulation.

    You can add initial condition (.IC) or use large GMINDC (GMINDC>1e-9).

    Good luck



  7. #7
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,940, Level: 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    32
    Helped
    16 / 16
    Points
    1,940
    Level
    10

    Re: Hspice error

    [quote="ehsan_r34"]Please tell me why the following error occured in Hspice?
    my circuit is a switched cap circuit.

    " **error**: internal timestep too small in transient analysis"


    Added after 2 hours 19 minutes:

    try with gshunt and cshunt options



  8. #8
    Member level 5
    Points: 1,572, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    80
    Helped
    5 / 5
    Points
    1,572
    Level
    9

    Hspice error

    you may use method=gear



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  9. #9
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 1,241, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    19
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,241
    Level
    7

    Re: Hspice error

    you can select .option for help



--[[ ]]--