Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RF/Microwave Simulation for multilayer and 2-layer PCBs

Status
Not open for further replies.

gigahertz

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
ie3d multilayer

Hello All,

I have a need to optimize performance of RF PCBs and I need some assistance in selecting one or more simulation tools. I have zero experience with EM simulation, so I listed my typical applications below:

1. Optimize S21 for grounded CPW. (CPW with a lower ground plane and a "via fence"). Study effects of changing the via fence to optimize. Obtain a simulated TDR response.

2. Connector transition optimization. SMA, K, and V connector end-launches to planar transmission lines such as grounded CPW and Microstrip.

3. Be able to account for "true plating" that is used in PCBs: copper with added barrier nickel and gold finish

4. Ideally be able to see effects of multi-layers added to an RF substrate. e.g. there will be a single core of high-performance material, then layers of FR4 added for power and dc routes.

5. To be able to simulate "broadband" for digital signals operating from 10GHz to 43GHz.

6. It would be great if a tool could read in a DXF file

Thankfully, my budget isn't a constraint. My company just wants me to find something well suited for PCBs. Thank you in advance to those offering their opinions and insight!

ie3d 2 layers

Thankfully, my budget isn't a constraint
Lucky you...!!!!!!!!!!!
Due to the wide bandwidth I would recommend CST
rather than HFSS. The cost, the last time I ask, was
about $35K to $40K. CSt will give you the TDR response.