+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 1,043, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,043
    Level
    7

    Set won't test Rx or Tx power of Marconi 2955B

    Marconi 2955B

    On the display:

    Rx Test - Level
    Tx Test - Power

    Both have a highlighted A beside them.

    Set won't test Rx's or Tx power, but all self tests pass ok and other functions set up ok. Nothing in user guide to explain this.

    Any bright ideas??...please

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 15,926, Level: 30
    E-design's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,014
    Helped
    505 / 505
    Points
    15,926
    Level
    30

    Re: Marconi 2955B

    This may help you.

    The unit is set with an output level offset

    Go to Change Parameters
    2nd page and you will see Level Offset.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 1,043, Level: 7

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,043
    Level
    7

    Re: Marconi 2955B

    Thanks - that was the problem

    Re read the manual, armed with fresh knowledge, and still found no reference to it.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 771, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    771
    Level
    6

    Re: Marconi 2955B

    Hi I am having the same drama here, doing strange things on the 2955A reads RF power of 5 watts on the 2955B its reading 30 watts
    Any suggestions



  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Points: 15,926, Level: 30
    E-design's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,014
    Helped
    505 / 505
    Points
    15,926
    Level
    30

    Re: Marconi 2955B

    Have you verified which one is correct by using an external watt meter?



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 771, Level: 6

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    771
    Level
    6

    Re: Marconi 2955B

    Hi, E-Design, yes the radio in question is only a UHF CB radio max power is approx 7watts reads 5 watts into external power meter. I have 2 of the 2955B's both reading approx 30 watts on test. the 2955 reads 5 watts or up to 7 watts when adjust power level on radio. I have downloaded the manuals available off here and other sites.But so far I have been unable to find any problems.I purchased the 2955B's both units appear to perform ok 1 passes alls elf test functions the second unit fails 3 of the self tests but still functions ok
    Thanks for your reply
    Marty



  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Points: 15,926, Level: 30
    E-design's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,014
    Helped
    505 / 505
    Points
    15,926
    Level
    30

    Re: Marconi 2955B

    Measure the RF load's 50Ω impedance. These loads do go faulty (high in resistance or even open circuit) due to excessive power. As the RF voltage level across the load is converted into wattage reading, the reading will be much higher.



  8. #8
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 598, Level: 5

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2
    Helped
    2 / 2
    Points
    598
    Level
    5

    Re: Marconi 2955B

    hi E-design, worked it out the atten level was set on one at 8.3 db and the other set as 6.0, after working out how to reset to zero db all working great both test sets within 1/2 watt of each other. Very hard trying to drive these untis without a manual to refer back to.
    Thanks for your replies
    Marty



--[[ ]]--