Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

The Power supply of Bias Tee damages the LNA

Status
Not open for further replies.

mhsj

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I'm a beginner to RF. Now I'm meeting a pratical problem which I think it needs RF knowledge.
That I have a weak signal, and change quickly, so I use a Bias Tee to capture it and give it -9V. Then I send it to a LNA(+60dB). When I choose different power supply to Bias Tee, the LNA may break down.
I test ten times, and I lost 9 LNAs.
I find that when I use RIGOL DC Power Supply or Battery, the LNA goes well. Then I use other power a linear power adapter, The LNA Damaged, there is no Amplified signals.(It used to work fine, but it take away my 9LNAs)
Then I use Chassis power which gives other subsystems, the Spectrum of signal is too broad(noise).
My LNA is Two-stage amplification.
What's the problem with my LNA? I Unpacking LNA, it use BGA2869, my signal is 6MHz.
Just I think that the power supply of previous Bias Tee can not influent the latter LNA, I tried use a SMA DC Block, but it's useless.

There may be many reasons that blow your IC but I guess there was a Transient Voltage that has been killing Input/Output. ESD can be another reason. Output Level might be too high etc.
Don't use 2 LNA in Cascade to obtain this extreme Power Gain. 60 dB Power Gain can damage the IC when a captured anything/any signal comes to them from somewhere.
These can be Transient Power Supply spikes, ESD Disturbance , Reflections, anything.

According to the datasheet the maximum input power (before damage) of BGA2869 is +10dBm.