Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ISD1700 and microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdwurm

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey guys,
I am looking into using the ISD1700 to play four different messages based on 4 different negative triggers from a separate device, since in non SPI mode you can only play one recording, I know the only way to do this is through a microcontroller. I am relatively new to using microcontrollers and can only program a few basic things, I was wondering if someone could help me out in choosing an appropriate microcontroller to do this task and some tips on programing separate audio messages.
Thanks

There is the cheapest way, and then there is the quickest way. Cheapest way would be to pick a flavor of microcontroller ATMEL/PIC/etc, build a programmer, download the programming software, go through the steep learning curve of learning the ins and outs of getting it running.

If this is just a one-off or a prototype and you just want to get it done without turning it into a full-time job, I'd suggest just buying a Basic Stamp and going from there. I just took a quick look at the ISD1700 datasheet, and I wouldn't even bother trying to interface via SPI if it wasn't necessary. Since you are only playing four messages, but can only play stored messaged sequentially (like many of these ISD chips, this one was meant to be used in answering machines), I would think you could get away with just pulsing the PLAY and FWD lines.

I could see it going something like this with a Basic Stamp (or any other microcontroller).

1) Monitor your four inputs.