Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is this PCB fried?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KFIre2021

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey there,
Circuit board noob here, working on some home DIY to fix a guitar pedal. One of the buttons is not working, so I opened it up to the circuit board and found that the circuit board itself was not transferring the connection.
I've attached a picture here, where I noticed some marks on the PCB. I was wondering if this would constitute as damage?
And would it be repairable by a DIYer?
Thanks a mill in advance

Attachments

• IMG_20210213_205345.jpg
    IMG_20210213_205345.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 156

Thanks a mill for your reply man!
Ok so that's not damage around the two solder joints?
Not sure why the current isn't flowing so. Must be elsewhere you think so?

Use an ohmmeter to check circuit continuity. May be the cable is broken?

Was thinking that possibly. Cool will do 👍 thanks a mill

Is it a membrane type button? Over time these can lose electrical contact between the membrane and conductive pad underneath. Dirt, powder, deposits from outgassing of petrochemicals...

Would this be a membrane type button? Again sorry I don't know much. But this picture shows what's on the other side of that PCB. The little button is not working so issue could be with it maybe?

Attachments

• IMG_20210214_121541.jpg
    IMG_20210214_121541.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 151
  • IMG_20210214_121528.jpg
    IMG_20210214_121528.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 136

Simple check: