Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to translate a large variable resistance to a low variable resistance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Waynec42

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I'm new to this forum so I hope this is the correct place for this question.

Having studied electronics a number of years ago, I'm not as knowledgeable as I would like to be in regards to analogue circuits, but I'm sure what I'm trying to do is possible.

Here's the question.

I'm a drummer. I play an electronic kit (2box brand). The foot pedal that simulates the hihat has a variable output of 700Ω to 800Ω. I would like to use a different brand of foot pedal (Roland) for this input. The problem being that the Roland foot pedal is 0Ω to 20kΩ as well as being reverse polarity - 20kΩ to 0Ω.

Can anyone recommend a simple circuit to translate a 20kΩ to 0Ω input to a 700Ω to 800Ω output.

Thanks.

Hi,
Connecting a suitable resistance in parallel would make it.

That will turn a high resistance into a low one but the problem requires the opposite. Also, it won't reverse the direction of travel.

It may be possible to use a simple transistor circuit where the pedal progressively turns on a transistor with an open collector/drain with a series resistor added. Most modules simply have a pullup resistor (to 5V) internally - maybe you could measure yours?

My main concern would be how progressive it could be. I could look tomorrow to see what might work. My main experience is with Yamaha modules.

Keith