Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to learn linux basics

Status
Not open for further replies.

chandu.kurapati

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi every one,

I want to learn the LINUX basics, my intention is to write the device drivers. I know how to write the firmware for the controller.

can any please share good material for to learn LINUX basics i.e path finder to write the LINUX device drivers in future.

Thanks & Regards,
Chandu.Kurapati.

How much experience do you have about linux? Are you a total beginner? If so I'd first recommend you get familiar with linux itself (particularly the command line). Writing linux device drivers isn't the easiest task though. Personally I bought a book ( https://it-ebooks.info/book/818/ ) that helped me get started to mod some existing wireless drivers. It has a chapter about linux kernel modules / device drivers in particular. You should also download the linux kernel source code, and browse through the modules source code. Everything is programmed in pure C language.

Hi Elight,

I'm totally new to the LINUX, please suggest good tutorial for me.

Thanks & Regards,
Chandu.Kurapati.

- - - Updated - - -

Hi Elight,

I'm totally new to the LINUX, please suggest good tutorial for me.

Thanks & Regards,
Chandu.Kurapati.