Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FPGA Door Unlocker

Status
Not open for further replies.

versionDefect

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all!

I am a Sophomore in college and have to make a final project with my FPGA board. The original idea was to unlock doors using RFID keycards but that seems pretty diffucult with FPGA, so instead I'm want to use a keypad that if a specific code is entered on a keypad to release the lock on the door (using a relay and the GPIO ports).

I know how to do this on a rasp pi and Arduino but how would or could I even do this on an FPGA board?

Write FPGA code that will:

1) Read the keypad
2) determine if the entered value is the correct "unlock" code
3) Drive your logic output high to energize the relay.

Without you having done anything, or asking specific questions, there's not much more help we can offer.

Hi,

just think as if you just have to use standard logic.

Draw a sketch, draw a schematic, draw a timing diagram, draw a flow chart...

BTW:
I don´t think that an RFID doorlock is that complicated.
For a couple of tags you may hard code them, for more tags use an external EEPROM.

Klaus

If you know Arduino then take a look at this page https://www.circuitstoday.com/interfacing-rfid-with-arduino and translate what the Arduino does to an FPGA hardware design.

Which looks to me like a UART interface to receive the RFID data, which you can then compare to what IDs you allow to open the lock. This is seems less complicated than the FSM you would have to write to monitor the keypad.
--- Updated ---