Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CST simulate a free space (2-Port) measurement

Status
Not open for further replies.

niccolinifr

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I'm new in CST, I would like to know how to setup a simulation to measure reflection(S11 and S22) and trasmission (S12 and S21) with 2 horn antenna and a DUT places in the middle. I have made some measures with VNA but the result doesn't match with the simulation in CST Studio
I attach a picture of the setup I'd like to model:
1615026218020.png

Maybe this video provides something to start from.
You can mirror the antenna to get the second one.

This is what I've done, but the S-parameter are too far from what I expected.
There is something wrong with the model i draw but I don't know where is the error.
Boundary conditions are open(add space), I set the reference plane to the DUT interface, the background is air (eps =1 mu = 1) and frequency is E-Band.
Another strange thing is if i remove the DUT and leave the antennas I obtain S12 and S21 near -7dB but I expect to measure 0dB and that's really strange.
F

Why do you expect 0 dB insertion loss? The antennas will not direct all power completely to the other antenna.

For far field, you could estimate path loss using De Friis equation, but it seems that you are in the near field where things get complicated.

Why do you expect 0 dB insertion loss? The antennas will not direct all power completely to the other antenna.