Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Allegro users---Is there snap to pad edge type command

Status
Not open for further replies.

manjeet_hp

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,
It is very basic question , but since i am new to Allegro ... i will be having basic questions like this intially .
I am wondering how to measure pad edge to edge size (by default it is snaping to center of the pad) .

Thanks in advance.

Manjeet

There is an another way for measuring the pad size......
For horizontal measurement draw horizontal lines on the edge of the pad and measure the distance between two lines and for vertical do the same..

When you are selecting pin to pin measurment the "Air Gap" is edge to edge size.

Regards,

M

Air gap is distance between the edges of two pads, but how to measure the length and width of a pad..???? Since it is snapping to the center of the pad.

In this case I do one of this:

1) this method is less accurate and depends on how fine is your grids, instead of pins select other segs this gives you close enough dimension of pads.

2) If your padstacks naming are followed by a logical convention you can use info to get the name of pad hence dimensions. Alternatively you can use padstack editor inside allegro to see size for a given pad.

Regards,
M

Hi ...

checking pad size in pad editor is ok.
But in mine case i need to show my footprint to client ...so i want to properly indicate dimensions on the footprint ....which include body size,pad size etc.