Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help about PLL design steps, what should be known???

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahmad_abdulghany

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello all, please pay attention for five minutes, and kindly participate me to think in this issue....

I studied some, not too little, topics concerning PLL and its application in the MS-ASIC desig, ...

starting from understanding basic PLL with PD and its differene types and orders (up to type II third order) ...

then, passed to CP-PLL, studied its basic operation, and itroduced the phase noise issue, and also studied contribution of increasing order and type of different parameters such as speed and phase noise (up to type II third order)

This was mainly for basic PLL..

Also, for PLL applications, I studied how can it be used as FM or FSK modulator/demodulator as well as in case of PSK... also, frequeny synthesizers with PLL either with interger or fractional N ...

Also, studied CDRs; different types of them, and adv/disadvantages of each over the other..

BUT, this was mainly in the block diagrams view, or in other words, in SYSTEM level point of view, with little circuits of different VCO's configurations, PFD's, filters, ...etc. but not in the level of deep circuit design, and hence, no layout, no verification...

NOW, the problem is, I'm supposed to work in a project of PLL design, and i have to en-force or enhance too manythings before i go through that project.. that's i'm looking forward to know from you,

I hope to see your comments

sorry for the long topic..
Thanks alot in advance,