Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3 wire - Serial data transfer (Read/Write)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maverickmax

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello

It is my first time to use 3 wire - serial communication and I intend to learn. So far I understand how to write but I am not 100 percent sure about reading the serial data from the device. Thus Do you have C code example that read the data in serial transfer?

Maverick Max

Serial data transfer , can be done synchronous or asynchronous . On asynchronous .You only need 2 wires + (soft or hardware protocol).On synchronous .there are several formats
two wires + protocol = I2C or 4 wires without protocol = SPI .As well as others
Which one is the one you are talking about ??

Well Im using three wire serial eeprom such as AT93C46 as it consists of Data In, Data Out, SK and CS.

So I think that I need to create algorithm that transfer data serially in order to write or read the device.

Do you know what I mean?

Maverick Max

Yes, I am using 4 wire without protocol (Serial Peripheral Interface) for my serial eeprom but I am not sure about reading process.

after transmitting the address bits, should I use the serial clock (off and on) in order to get 1 bit from the Data Out Pin?

can you please provide a sample code in C?

Maverick Max

If you just want to read a databyte from an SPI device you must write one (dummy) databyte for every databyte you want to read.

SPI reads and writes at the same time as there are seperate datalines for IN and OUT.

See my small C example (for Microchip PIC) below.
Code:
	do
	{