+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,809, Level: 16
    ivlsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    863
    Helped
    17 / 17
    Points
    4,809
    Level
    16

    [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Hi All,

    I have a project of the HDL Designer on one PC and I'd like to move/copy it to another one?

    How can I do so? Just a copy of the directory of the project will work? Actually the files and libraries are deployed over many directories outside of the project root directory and I'm not sure about all these places...

    Is there an automatic flow, which "pack" all the files/libs/etc into a single file, which might be moved/copied then to another PC and restored there? Something like to Archive->Restore flow in Quartus (Altera)?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,809, Level: 16
    ivlsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    863
    Helped
    17 / 17
    Points
    4,809
    Level
    16

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Can somebody help? Does somebody know what the most popular forum for HDL Designer?



    •   Alt12th October 2017, 14:21

      advertising

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 35,049, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,423
    Helped
    1871 / 1871
    Points
    35,049
    Level
    45

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    I get the feeling HDL designer is a bit of a niche product. Ive only ever seen 1 designers use it, and several others fed up with it.
    Why not contact mentor? They would be the experts?



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,809, Level: 16
    ivlsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    863
    Helped
    17 / 17
    Points
    4,809
    Level
    16

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    I posted my question on the MG forum - no one responded asked this question again this morning...
    I have no choice - my employer works with the product ...



  5. #5
    Member level 4
    Points: 489, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    75
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    489
    Level
    4

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    I usually copy an entire folder with all files to a new location (from network drive to a local C:/D: drive) and then open a that project from a new location in HDL Designer. I did not hear any complaints from my colleagues working on projects so I assume it is a correct way :)


    1 members found this post helpful.

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,809, Level: 16
    ivlsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    863
    Helped
    17 / 17
    Points
    4,809
    Level
    16

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Copying just a folder with HDL Designer folder might be an easy way when all the files are in this folder (or its sub-folder).
    The problem starts when the files are deployed on many network drives and you need to migrate the project to another PC, which has no an access to these drives.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 35,049, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,423
    Helped
    1871 / 1871
    Points
    35,049
    Level
    45

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    This is where versions control would have been rather usefull.... Then everything can be kept in a local folder.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  8. #8
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,809, Level: 16
    ivlsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    863
    Helped
    17 / 17
    Points
    4,809
    Level
    16

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    So, are you about when all the files were checked in (committed) from different locations and then checked out to a single location? Is this the flow?
    As far as I know, SVN (revision control) doesn't change the location of the files... So, how does exectly the flow work?



    •   Alt13th October 2017, 13:59

      advertising

        
       

  9. #9
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 35,049, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,423
    Helped
    1871 / 1871
    Points
    35,049
    Level
    45

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    If you were using SVN, all of the files would be stored in a repository. Checking out a repository should mean the project is buildable. If files are needed from other repositories, you can use externals to check those out into your local check out folder, and you also need to make sure all paths are relative, rather than absolute.

    This way, you check the project out anywhere and everything will work.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   Alt13th October 2017, 14:56

      advertising

        
       

  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,809, Level: 16
    ivlsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    863
    Helped
    17 / 17
    Points
    4,809
    Level
    16

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Thanks! Do you know a forum of the HDL Designer users? The Mentor Graphics web site community doesn't response to HDL Designer issues...
    In fact, even here you are the only user who responded to my post



  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 35,049, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,423
    Helped
    1871 / 1871
    Points
    35,049
    Level
    45

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Sorry no, as I tried to use it once and hated it. I dont like programs that take control of my code and make it difficult to see what's changed in version control.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 3
    Points: 4,809, Level: 16
    ivlsi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    863
    Helped
    17 / 17
    Points
    4,809
    Level
    16

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    so, what your favorite tool/editor for HDL coding? Emacs?



  13. #13
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 35,049, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,423
    Helped
    1871 / 1871
    Points
    35,049
    Level
    45

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    I personally use Notepad++



  14. #14
    Member level 4
    Points: 489, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    75
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    489
    Level
    4

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    We use HDL Designer because my employer can not afford for real VHDL designers and HDL designer allows you to draw your code in diagrams :) Besides that there is a significant turnover of employees so it is much easier to takeover a project by reading diagrams instead of pure VHDL code.



  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Points: 27,821, Level: 40
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,355
    Helped
    1540 / 1540
    Points
    27,821
    Level
    40

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Quote Originally Posted by TrickyDicky View Post
    I personally use Notepad++
    I use gvim.

    Quote Originally Posted by filip.amator View Post
    We use HDL Designer because my employer can not afford for real VHDL designers and HDL designer allows you to draw your code in diagrams :) Besides that there is a significant turnover of employees so it is much easier to takeover a project by reading diagrams instead of pure VHDL code.
    Let me guess, you must work in one of those hideous contract job shops where recent grads go and end up doing terrible designs for companies that have no idea they are just wasting money on "technical expertise" that doesn't really exist. Very sad stories from previous companies, where I've worked, that used those services (fortunately I was never part of those groups that took advantage of those services) our work was too critical or too proprietary to be exported.



    •   Alt13th October 2017, 17:20

      advertising

        
       

  16. #16
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,027, Level: 16

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,061
    Helped
    189 / 189
    Points
    5,027
    Level
    16

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Holy cow, people actually still do schematic design in 2017?
    Really, I am not Sam.



  17. #17
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 35,049, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,423
    Helped
    1871 / 1871
    Points
    35,049
    Level
    45

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Quote Originally Posted by ThisIsNotSam View Post
    Holy cow, people actually still do schematic design in 2017?
    Yes and no. HDL Designer lets you design the project as a schematic/state diagrams, but it all runs with HDL as the base, and you dont need HDL designer to compile the code.
    It does looks pretty, but is another licence to pay for, when a text editor works just fine (for me).

    - - - Updated - - -

    And have you ever used System Designer in Vivado or QSys - thats basically schematic design, probably taking a cue from HDL designer.
    They are all a means to broaden the FPGA market to non HDL fluent people - increasing chip sales.
    Same goes for HLS, OpenCL and the like. Its all about sales!



  18. #18
    Member level 4
    Points: 489, Level: 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    75
    Helped
    15 / 15
    Points
    489
    Level
    4

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Quote Originally Posted by ads-ee View Post
    Let me guess, you must work in one of those hideous contract job shops where recent grads go and end up doing terrible designs for companies that have no idea they are just wasting money on "technical expertise" that doesn't really exist. Very sad stories from previous companies, where I've worked, that used those services (fortunately I was never part of those groups that took advantage of those services) our work was too critical or too proprietary to be exported.
    It is a rather recognizable university in London area. As a part of international collaboration they are obligated to deliver some (working) equipment. But it is other part of the story about low valuation of technical skills in UK where every person holding a screwdriver in a hand is called 'engineer'.



  19. #19
    Super Moderator
    Points: 27,821, Level: 40
    ads-ee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,355
    Helped
    1540 / 1540
    Points
    27,821
    Level
    40

    Re: [HDL Designer] How to import/export/migrate/move a project

    Quote Originally Posted by filip.amator View Post
    But it is other part of the story about low valuation of technical skills in UK where every person holding a screwdriver in a hand is called 'engineer'.
    Which is pretty much the reason for any company that does medical equipment has to have an engineer (or two or more) that has a PE after their name.



--[[ ]]--