+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,449, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    182
    Helped
    13 / 13
    Points
    1,449
    Level
    8

    Cyclone 5 sockit usb_uart port

    hi,

    i have cyclone 5 sockit. inthe fpga , there is usb uart port. but its a part of the HPS, not fpga. so is it possible to use tha usb uart port using nios processor ?
    i mean nios2 processor +uart (rs232)+on chip ram ??

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	newdoubt.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	102.8 KB 
ID:	141577
    thanks and regards

    •   Alt30th September 2017, 10:47

      advertising

        
       

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 234,699, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    40,547
    Helped
    12396 / 12396
    Points
    234,699
    Level
    100

    Re: cyclone 5 sockit usb_uart port

    No, there's no direct connection between FPGA fabric and dedicated HPS IO pins.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  3. #3
    Member level 2
    Points: 340, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    50
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    340
    Level
    3

    Re: cyclone 5 sockit usb_uart port

    The easiest way is to use UART-2-USB cable like this one
    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/kvm-mi...blies/6877834/
    and hook-up wires to I/O pins from FPGA part of the chip. Remember to use cables/adapters with 3.3V IO levels only - the FPGA pin won't survive 5V at the input.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   Alt30th September 2017, 13:41

      advertising

        
       

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Points: 234,699, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    40,547
    Helped
    12396 / 12396
    Points
    234,699
    Level
    100

    Re: cyclone 5 sockit usb_uart port

    You rather want the USB-2-TTL-UART than USB-2-RS485 cable. E.g. FTDI TTL-232R-3V3

    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/interf...-kits/0429307/



  5. #5
    Member level 2
    Points: 340, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    50
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    340
    Level
    3

    Re: cyclone 5 sockit usb_uart port

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    You rather want the USB-2-TTL-UART than USB-2-RS485 cable. E.g. FTDI TTL-232R-3V3

    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/interf...-kits/0429307/
    Yes, I overlooked specs - it must be TTL UART 3.3V not RS485.
    One can use cheaper adapter like this one:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CH340-CH34...8AAOSwx6pYqKJD

    or this one

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/USB-2-0-to...sAAOSwa81Zc7ok

    There is a plenty of various sorts/types/kinds at eBay and similar websites.



    •   Alt30th September 2017, 14:18

      advertising

        
       

  6. #6
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 1,449, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    182
    Helped
    13 / 13
    Points
    1,449
    Level
    8

    Re: cyclone 5 sockit usb_uart port

    hi,
    thanks for the replay fvm & filip.amator. actually i need to take two register value from fpga (both 32 bit)to pc for evaluation. now i done it with jtag uart+nios 2 processor. but the speed is around 5k . but i need a speed of 10 k. so i thought i will use uart (rs 232 ip). but its not working . so anybody know how to do it with hps . do i need to implement a qsys system for that(like jtag uart) . if yes what components i nee to add (like hps+onchip ram+uart +??). i didnt got any reference design if anybody had it please send a link .

    i am using "sockit" from terasic .

    regards



  7. #7
    Member level 2
    Points: 340, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    50
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    340
    Level
    3

    Re: Cyclone 5 sockit usb_uart port

    You can use PIO component (8 bits for data and one bit to start UART) in NIOS2 processor to send characters over UART to the host PC. Take UART_TX.vhd from this website: https://www.nandland.com/vhdl/module...ort-rs232.html and wire signals between NIOS2 and UART core: i_TX_Byte to 8 bit PIO with your data and i_TX_DV to start UART.



--[[ ]]--