+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member level 2
    Points: 289, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    51
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    289
    Level
    3

    Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    Hi,
    How can i erase the epcs4n memory of cyclone ii?

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 11,980, Level: 26

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,442
    Helped
    281 / 281
    Points
    11,980
    Level
    26

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    via the programming application...



    •   Alt12th September 2017, 09:52

      advertising

        
       

  3. #3
    Member level 2
    Points: 289, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    51
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    289
    Level
    3

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    Quote Originally Posted by shaiko View Post
    via the programming application...
    Are you talking about the erase option available in the Quartus software?...
    But once i erase the flash using the above option the program is still there in the fpga.



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 34,876, Level: 45
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6,390
    Helped
    1861 / 1861
    Points
    34,876
    Level
    45

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    Does the flash have multiple partitions?
    Often the dev boards have switches to select which partition is used during programming/loading.



    •   Alt12th September 2017, 11:26

      advertising

        
       

  5. #5
    Member level 2
    Points: 289, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    51
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    289
    Level
    3

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    Quote Originally Posted by TrickyDicky View Post
    Does the flash have multiple partitions?
    Often the dev boards have switches to select which partition is used during programming/loading.
    Dev board used is cyclone ii and i have configured EPCS4N for the AS programming.



  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Points: 236,416, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    40,889
    Helped
    12494 / 12494
    Points
    236,416
    Level
    100

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    Dev board used is cyclone ii
    Which one, there many different types?



  7. #7
    Member level 2
    Points: 289, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    51
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    289
    Level
    3

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    Which one, there many different types?
    Cyclone II EP2C02F484C7, and the configuring flash memory device is EPCS4N



  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Points: 236,416, Level: 100
    Awards:
    1st Helpful Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    40,889
    Helped
    12494 / 12494
    Points
    236,416
    Level
    100

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    I was asking for the development board type, not the FPGA. Knowing the board allows to check for specific configuration features, switches, etc.

    EP2C20 sounds like Altera Cyclone II Starter Board alias Terasic DE1.



    •   Alt13th September 2017, 05:30

      advertising

        
       

  9. #9
    Member level 2
    Points: 289, Level: 3

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    51
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    289
    Level
    3

    Re: Cyclone ii fpga flash memory erasing

    Quote Originally Posted by FvM View Post
    I was asking for the development board type, not the FPGA. Knowing the board allows to check for specific configuration features, switches, etc.

    EP2C20 sounds like Altera Cyclone II Starter Board alias Terasic DE1.
    its DE01 cyclone ii dev board



--[[ ]]--