Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with IC555 Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericngy

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear Esteemed Members,

I am newbie here. It's exciting to see so many circuits and discussions here.
I hope to add my circuit to the discussion. My circuit is not working.

I think it is because my IC555 Output Pin 3 is sending too low a current and hence cannot activate BC548. My circuit is as follows :

EMF Timer Circuit Pain.png

The IC555 datasheet says output current is 0.1A. But I have looked at many circuits on various websites and they use 9V and 1K ohm resister at R5 position. I don't understand that. Won't that generate only 9V/1K ohm = 0.009A only? How can it give 0.1A to activate the BC548 base pin? Anyway I st up the circuit on a standard PC Board and it did not work.

Any suggestion on how to make it work? Can I simply do away with R5 altogether and connect pin 3 to the BC548 base pin directly?

That isn't the problem and the circuit can not possible work as you have it.

There are two major flaws in the design:
1. The output of the 555 has to be synchronous to the AC but it free runs so the triac trigger could be anywhere in the AC cycle.
2. The gate voltage has no reference, the current from the transistor to the gate has no path to follow.

To make it work so the variable resistor controls the current through the electromagnet, move it to the top side of the triac and connect the bottom of the triac to pin 1 of the 555.