Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building the Simple 80 Metre DSB Minitransceiver by VK3AJG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Garyl

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey,
I have stumbled upon the VK3AJG while searching for some simple radio stuff to build. I am a very beginner in this field, so I'd like to ask for your opinion about this project.

This transmitter is using only transistors (BC549C, BC547C, BC557B, 2N2219), no ICs.

The project is described here:
**broken link removed**
The description says:

A Simple 80 Metre DSB Minitransceiver
VK3AJG

The receiver is quite sensitive and tunes about 80-90Khz, tx output is ~300-500mW

C26 is small plastic tuning capacitor (100pf)
Q4 is 3.58Mhz ceramic resonator.
Coil L1 is 10 turns trifilar wound on ferrite bead.
Coil L6 is 10 turns bifilar wound on ferrite bead.
Coil L7 is 14 turns on old 10mm 455Khz IF Can.
All other coils are RF chokes.
Tx/Rx switching is done with a DPDT switch connected to
JP3 and JP5.
Adjust preset pots for best carrier balance on tx, and tune
L7 for best reception.

NOTE: Must use double sided pc board, with the top layer as a ground plane,
using single sided board the receiver will not work very well.

Schematic mirror:
dsb-minitransceiver.png

Eagle files mirror:
View attachment eagle_DSB-Minitransceiver.zip

PDF board mirror:
View attachment DSB-Minitransceiver.pdf

I have following questions:
1. Coil L7 is 14 turns on old 10mm 455Khz IF Can. - what is that and where to get that? I have found a few such "cans" in my old electronic parts, but I don't know how to check what's the frequency of those "cans".