Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AVR32 vs PIC32 which has better support, learning curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimkess

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
which of the two AVR32 or PIC32 is easier to program, learn and which has more firmware, software, source code available? i see more avr32 source code via atmel studio and ASF and documentation(schematics) than pic32. is this right? specifically usb based MCU seems better supported by avr32 than pic32, there is also issue of licensing of source code. i am a beginner so i might be wrong.

The PIC32 is made by Microchip and the AVR32 was made by Atmel that was bought by Microchip. Both have free GCC-based compilers available for them (and the rest of the toolchain as well) so I'm not sure about licensing of the source code.
The PIC32 is based on the MIPS technology (which is different from the other PIC families) whereas the AVR32 is based on their own processor design that is an extension of their 8-bit and 16-bit technologies. However, much of this is hidden by the compiler (although you will need to read the respective compiler documentation for details of how to handle things like interrupts etc.).
I'm not sure what you mean by either device providing better support for USB. Ultimately both MCUs just provide the hardware and there needs to be firmware written to make sue of it - therefore it comes down to the availability of libraries and they are available for both devices.