Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Input power measurement (100k-100MHz) of rectifier using a directional coupler

Status
Not open for further replies.

laygun

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am driving a half wave rectifier which has an input impedance >>50ohm. I can measure the output voltage and output power.

I would like to measure spectral power transfer/conversion efficiency (Pout/Pin) but I don't know the proper way of measuring the input power to my rectifier. How would you measure it ?

I am considering using a directional coupler but not sure how to do (I am new to RF circuits)

Potential problems:
1-My input signal will be Vpp 2-4V so 10-20dBm range. It will be mostly reflected due to the high input impedance of my rectifier (>10kohm). While the most of the power is reflected can I still accurately measure the small difference (10-100 uW) between the reflected and incident power (from RF power supply or arbitrary waveform generator).

2- Since the diode will conduct for a short part of the period, current will not look like a sine wave and there will be other frequency components. Will this create a problem? (Changing input impedance during a single cycle)

3- As I increase frequency, a capacitor parallel to my diode starts to conduct. So there will be a large instantaneous power, but this will be just charging and discharging the load capacitor and not consuming a lot of power. However my average consumed power will be still small around 10-100 uWatts. (based on my simulations)