Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FFT design choices - bitsize and implementation

Status
Not open for further replies.

radiohead

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all. I am rather new to the domain of digital signal processing so I would like to know how a seasoned veteran handles this design.

I have a 1-bit signal stream, and need to take a 1024-point fixed point FFT. Worst case the signal could be a constant 0 or 1.
* How do you select the number of bits required for the FFT?
* Can the bitsize at input or output be different.
* How do you scale the input signal, to prevent overflows?
* Are there any implementations that take advantage of the limited dynamic range at the input to minimize the FPGA footprint?

Thanks!

Hi,

Let's start with the input signal.
It's rather unusual to use just 1 or 0 as input signal.
Where does it come from? Maybe from a modulator...
Maybe it is coded somehow...so it can be transferred into more meaningful values.

An FFT output is in frequency domain.
Therefore it makes sense that you consider
* input data rate,
* output frequency resolution
...it could help if you tell us what's the purpose of the FFT, what informations are you after?

Klaus

Right on track!

The 1 bit input is indeed a bit strange. It comes from a 1-bit digitizer from a GPS front-end. The GPS signals are under the thermal noise and need to be demodulated with processing gain. Therefore the stream is in fact random noise.