Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Literature review for post layout verification

Status
Not open for further replies.

tarjina

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,
I am doing my thesis work on developing a design methodology which reduces the post layout simulation time for large analog designs.
I cannot find a proper literature that already talks about it. Whenever I search I get articles, books on Analog verification, mixed-signal verification, algorithms for verification but no-one speaks about the reducing run-time. If anyone can direct me to a one single literature regarding this, I would be really happy.
I am on a clock and kind of stuck!
Thanks in advance!!

I think this is heavily trodden ground, everybody wants
a simulator that can grind large netlists faster. And that
is the only difference between schematic and post-layout
simulation - netlist node- and element-bloat.

Now depending on the PDK's extract implementation
there can be things you do to the netlist that result in
a much better runtime (and lack of crashing). In particular
if your setup extracts each MOSFET finger as a separate
device, that's heinous. At one place I worked we tasked
one of the sysadmins to write a (PERL, I think) script
that scanned netlists for MOSFETs that had identical
D, G, S, B connectivity, counted them, and replaced
them all with one m=N device statement (commenting
the rest for traceability). Huge improvement, due to
de-bloating. I'm sure the same could apply to other
elements but MOSFETs are most commonly multi-
fingered and lazily extracted.