+ Post New Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,625, Level: 17

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1,001
    Helped
    241 / 241
    Points
    5,625
    Level
    17

    Re: modification for power supply

    Hi,

    Looking at the attached instruction manual for 620/720 kits, Q to L are the 5V pcb connections, and the +1.25 to +15V and -1.25 to -15V are EF and J-K respectively. The manual explains the steps clearly, if not in a detailed manner.

    I beg your pardon, page 10: C is the 5V, I is the +1.25 to +15V, G is the +1.25 to +15V, and D is COM (0V).
    Last edited by d123; 24th February 2017 at 21:05.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  2. #22
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 147, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    14
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    147
    Level
    1

    Re: modification for power supply

    ah i might have missed that, great thank you so much!. Oh and by the way, to connect the LED to the 5v output - all you gotta do is split the wire feeding one to the component its asking you to connect and one to the LED right?. Thank you again



  3. #23
    Super Moderator
    Points: 65,729, Level: 62
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    10,801
    Helped
    3513 / 3513
    Points
    65,729
    Level
    62

    Re: modification for power supply

    The Ebay site shows the LED runs on 12V, it will not light up on 5V!

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.



  4. #24
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 147, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    14
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    147
    Level
    1

    Re: modification for power supply

    Quote Originally Posted by betwixt View Post
    The Ebay site shows the LED runs on 12V, it will not light up on 5V!

    Brian.
    oh yep thats what i meant haha. Also to connect the LED to the 12v output all you gotta do is split the wires feeding one to the LED and one to the other component am i right?. Just asking before i finalise my project. Thanks



  5. #25
    Super Moderator
    Points: 65,729, Level: 62
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Awards:
    2nd Helpful Member
    betwixt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdyfi, West Wales, UK
    Posts
    10,801
    Helped
    3513 / 3513
    Points
    65,729
    Level
    62

    Re: modification for power supply

    I'm not sure exactly what you are 'splitting'. I showed you a method of adding a new 12V regulator specifically for the LEDs, otherwise you are forced to scarifice the + adjustable output by leaving it set to 12V.

    There is no 'splitting', when a connection in an electronic circuit goes to more than one place, it generally isn't necessary to physically divide the path, you just link the start and end points together with wire. There are many exceptions to this which the purists will be cringing at but in a simple power supply with short wiring it will make virtually no difference which route the current follows.

    For example, if point 'A' is the source and it has to feed 'B' and 'C', you can do it any of these ways:
    A ---> B and A ---> C (this is best but needs more wire!)
    A ---> B ---> C
    A ---> C ---> B

    The only consideration is to use thicker wires where more current will flow. Thinner wire has higher resistance and therefore drops more voltage per Amp passing through it.

    Brian.
    PLEASE - no friends requests or private emails, I simply don't have time to reply to them all.
    It's better to share your questions and answers on Edaboard so we can all benefit from each others experiences.


    1 members found this post helpful.

  6. #26
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 147, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    14
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    147
    Level
    1

    Re: modification for power supply

    Ah yeah that's what i meant. Thanks was just making sure if i was on the right track. Thank i'm going to continue working on this project for the time being.



  7. #27
    Newbie level 6
    Points: 147, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    14
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    147
    Level
    1

    Re: modification for power supply

    I've started this project in the last month or so and i'm very lost on the voltmeter connections. I do not know what each wire feeds into, the info is too vague. Here is the schematic of the voltmeter.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	voltmeter.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	77.5 KB 
ID:	140382



--[[ ]]--