Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LED stimulated TIA drift

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChAndrea

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody,

I am an engineering student working on a relative simple project: I need to measure the current generated in a photodiode (several of them actually but does not matter) stimulated by a LED.

The application requires a low bandwidth (no more than a few Hz) but high accuracy and resolution. In particular I am interested in monitoring the "DC" component of the signal over time.

I choose to work with a simple transimpedance amplifier (DC gain 1 Mohm, -3 dB bandwidth between 1 and 2 Hz), followed by an antialiasing filter (a Sallen Key filter). The ADC I am using is a delta sigma type (ADS1115, 16 bit resolution, conversion speed between 8 and 860 SPS).

To drive the LEDs I am using a PWM led driver (TLC59711) or a simple LM317 configured as a current regulator.

The signal I obtain is "clean" (no 50-60 Hz, really low noise and everything). The problem is that there is a drift over time in the measured signal ( a few mV) in response to a (ideally) constant LED brightness (constant current or duty cycle).

This phenomenon is evident when I change the LED current or duty cycle (usually when I increase the current or the duty cycle the signal drifts toward a lower value and viceversa).

The circuit is built on a breadboard and both the LED and the photodiode are secured inside an enclosure to remove the ambient light. The wires used to connect the LED and the photodiode are 30 cm long (no shield).