Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] easy 512 DC-RC temperature measurement

Status
Not open for further replies.

bmandl

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello.
I just started learning about PLCs. My primary field of expertise is acctually electronics and microcontrollers, but for a sake of my employment, I have to learn to work with PLCs. I already know basics and I know how to write ladder diagram. I also finished one project in work with easy 822 PLC from Eaton.
Some time ago, my friend gave me this controller (easy 512 DC-RC). I didn't know, what to do with it and now I came to idea, to control radiators in one room with electric actuators. The problem is, that I don't know if this controller can measure temperature and then work with this data. It has 1 analog input, that could be used for some analog temperature sensor, but it only has analog comparator, so this kind of regulation would be "quazy" regulation. It is possible to measure voltage or current with this controller or is it just possible to compare two values?
I am asking you guys, because Eaton has very poor support with this controllers. I don't want to throw it away, so I have to use it somehow.
Thank you for all of your answers.

Does it have an onboard temp sensor? Or else obtain a sensor whose resistance changes with temperature. Make it output a variable voltage with a schematic like those below.

These are simple circuits. You'll need to do a lot of adjusting (programming?).