Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to extract PCM stereo from HDMI?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TasDevil

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
First post here.

I've registered on this forum in the hope of finding an answer to a problem that has been bugging me for some time. Please note I'm not a professional engineer but a retired 80yo amateur with a hearing problem.

To assist with that hearing problem I've resorted to headphones and I have a Benchmark DAC1 beside where I sit which is fed music from server. So far so good. But I would also like to feed it a stereo PCM signal from an Onkyo SC-5509 preamp processor to aid with hearing from the 7.1 A/V system.

The Onkyo has no digital audio out so I tried to extract it from the HDMI out using a relatively inexpensive Monoprice converter but am not having success.

The manual discussion about the MAIN and SUB HDMI outputs implies the SC-5509 will honor the EDID specs provided by whichever port has priority but does it really behave this way when the AV receiver can handle ALL formats?

Generally no one cares if there is even any audio at all in the AV receiver’s HDMI outputs since the AV receiver is providing the sound and HDMI outputs usually go to a display only (in my case a JVC projector) with no audio desired. However there could be a TV with stereo only capability in another room receiving a signal from the SC-5509 but no one would want that to compromise the main system to stereo because of its connection to that TV due to EDID protocols.