Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

The purpose of DC load line

Status
Not open for further replies.

saviourm

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear ALL

I am studying DC load line of a transistor with a collector resistor of 3K and supply of 15V.
The author of the book calculated the collector current about 5mA. Then he drew a straight line between 5mA on the y-axis and 15V on the x-axis( collector curves Ic vs Vce).The author says that the transistor is operated between these extremities saturation and cutoff.
I understood that when varying the base current of the circuit the output values of collector current(Ic) and collector emitter (Vce) voltage lies on the straight line drawn (provided that the collector resistor and the Vcc remain constant), Am I right?
Please can someone give a reply in simple words what is the purpose of the DC loadline and the said statement if am I rightt?
Many Thanks
Saviour Muscat

Attachments

• Loadline.jpg
    Loadline.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 86