Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to DSP, want to build an audio effect filter

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexmedkex

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am a computer engineering student who recently took a course on signal processing. I found it very interesting, but the course mainly focused on the mathematics and theory without any physical application. I now want to experiment and try to build some kind of filter on my own. I thought about creating a delay effect, but I don't know how to do it on a circuit level. Does anyone know of anywhere I can find information about this? I googled around and, to my surprise, couldn't find much of interest. Is delay even easy to build? If not, could you recommend any effect that is?

Thank you in advance!

Is delay even easy to build?
Of course it is. If your course had any impact, you should be able to build it from the scratch, just considering the nature of a delay, without consulting the internet.

In computer terms, consider a FIFO or a circular buffer.

You can find literature about more sophisticated audio effects on the internet and as printed books, first of all there's the outstanding DAFX by Udo Zoelzer.

Of course it is. If your course had any impact, you should be able to build it from the scratch, just considering the nature of a delay, without consulting the internet.

Didn't know this was the forum for elitists only, sorry for disturbing your excellent mind!

Surprisingly, making simple filters DSP style is surprisingly easy, the easiest way to do this is probably:

Output = (1-Cut)*Output + Cut*Input