Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to use microcontroller to control Nokia to send SMS

Status
Not open for further replies.

gah_wah

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
sms microcontroller

Hi everybody,
I’m a college student currently working final year project but I have no idea and I'm looking for help !!!
I’m currently working on a RFID based vehicle tracking device, and I'll be using a gsm phone to send data via sms from the vehicle to another gsm phone. The question is , how can I interface the microcontroller unit to the gsm phone? , I’m planning to interface a 6150, is it possible??? ? and which microcontroller is prefered to use , and how can communicate with the phone through the microcontroller ? . I know it's too much to ask but I'm supposed to deliver my project within a month so I don't really have the time to study about all of this , please if anyone knows these stuff or at least somthing about it , please help me . thx for all in advance :)

microcontroller sms

I am afraid you will get troubles with Nokia phones, try to use Siemens phones or GSM modems.

Do a search here for "PIC SMS" or search my posts and you will find how it can be done with "old" Siemens phones or GSM modems.

You can use a PIC or 8051 controller (cheap and often used).

hope this helps

microcontroller send sms

hi,
You will have to find set of AT commands for the mobile phone you want to use for your purpose. Through AT commands you can send and receive SMS through mobile phone.
you can search it on net...

http://freshmeat.net/projects/gammu/
http://www.mwiacek.com/gsm/soft/gammu.html