Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Identification of SMD Coil / Inductor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gorilla1969

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I'm hoping somebody can give me some insight as to what component I need to replace a broken part. I have very little electrical experience but do work in company which has technicians who are able to soldering components.

I have a hand-held controller which contains a rechargable battery pack, a lcd, and a circuit board with a cord what can connect or disconnect from a medical TENS unit. One day it stopped working and I noticed a rattling sound inside the controller. After removing the case, I noticed a coil had broken off the pcb. I've called the manufacturer of the device but they have been of little assistance.

If I give specifics on the part, I was hoping somebody might be able to help make a part recommendation (hopefully). The following link shows a very similar component (this is not the actual component as it was damaged): https://obrazki.elektroda.pl/90_1314986619.jpg

The markings on the actual coil are not legible. However, the copper wire is .002" in diameter and, once unravelled, is about 7.5 feet in length end-to-end. The inner core diameter is .080". The height of the inner core where the winding is located (not total height of the part) is .080" as well. The diameter of the top and bottom of the coil (the very ends) is .156".

If you need more information, please let me know.