Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

concept quesiton: open loop gain of opamp for simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

ffsher100

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am new to analog world and survey some opamp's simulation document for a while.

I got question about "open loop gain"

While open_loop_gain state, my understand is that all mos in opamp should be satisfied with Saturation.
first, i use dc sweep offset voltage between inverter(vip) non-inverter(vin)

vip more than vin

Thus, i put Vos(offset voltage) -1.4mv on vip such that vin=vdd/2, vip=(vdd/2)-1.4mv and all mos in saturation.
.TF V(vout) vip also let me obtain open loop gain in hspice report.

is this right way to find open loop gain??

Last edited:

I'm not sure exactly what you've done, but in my understanding the open loop gain of an OPAMP is the voltage gain when the OPAMP has no feedback loop like for instance an inverting amplifier, etc.

yes, my configuration. opamp's out is left nothing to do and no feedback from out to input(vin/vip).

While open_loop_gain state, my understand is that all mos in opamp should be satisfied with Saturation.
first, i use dc sweep offset voltage between inverter(vip) non-inverter(vin)

Thus, i put Vos(offset voltage) -1.4mv on vip such that vin=vdd/2, vip=(vdd/2)-1.4mv and all mos in saturation.
.TF V(vout) vip also let me obtain open loop gain in hspice report.

is this right way to find open loop gain??