Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Multi-port inductor simulation in HFSS

Status
Not open for further replies.

beardolphinariesg

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all, I have been using HFSS for about 2 months. And here I met some problem with inductor design. Did anyone meet the similar problems?

It is a octagonal symmetric inductor in Metal 6 (CMOS technology), with lumped ports: P1 and P2 as two inputs closed to each other. There is also a guard ring on Metal 1, which is also connected to silicon substrate.
If P1&P2 are placed against Metal 1 guard ring directly, the simulation results (S11, or extracted L,Q etc.) looks OK.
If P1&P2 are against a small piece of PEC, and another port (P3) drives the guard ring against the same PEC, then the S11 changes a lot (e.g. more than half lower self resonating frequency).
Just wondering if anyone have seen this before? Thanks a lot.

It's hard to follow the setup ("two inputs closed to each other"?) can you post
the project or at least an image that highlights the ports

Reactions: bunga

bunga

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Hi, thanks for reply. I attached the image. The yellow tracks are inductor itself. The red ring is the guard ring in M1, which is connected to the polysilicon shield. The two blue ports (P1&P2) drive the inductor. And the two green rectangles connect the P1&P2 (through a small piece of PEC sheet) and M1 ring.
Now, if the green rectangles are simply PEC sheets, that means the P1&P2 drive the inductor against the M1 ring directly. And the simulation results are fine (i.e. L~15nH, Q~8, SRF~4GHz)