Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

H bridge inverter help

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrbuell

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I would like some help selecting an IC to control an H bridge (MOSFET) inverter. This is for a welder, the input is 300 V rectified. I am a bit of a noob, so a circuit diagram would be much appreciated. I've looked all over the internet and have only become confused. Please help.

The original H-bridge is intact, but the gate drive circuitry is fried. I can't obtain parts or schematics so I thought that I would build my own drive. So 240 VAC is rectified to 300VDC and sent to the inverter board. It is a MOSFET based H bridge (full bridge?). Three MOSFETs are paralleled per leg. Each MOSFET is rated 600V, 20 AMP. Each leg has a 47 ohm resistor in series with a capacitor. This is either a snubber or flyback I think, not sure. I would like to build a gate drive with one or two IC's , and the frequency should be around 100KHZ (I think)

C

Did you cheak the output of your micro or pic,is their any pwm signal?

Yes, and it seems to be dead.

Does anyone know what frequency I should be looking for? Also, the IC should be rated for at least 400 volts, am I right?

If you are to use pwm then I suggest you programmed a pic it will be the best and safe,and why do you need 400v ic's,a normal H-bridge driver is ok for you.

Thank you Tahmid, very helpful. These drivers are for half bridges. I'm unclear on how to used these drivers for a full bridge. Do you know of any example schematics?
Thanks,
Colin