Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Chirp Z-Transform Algorithm - Applications?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zia.newversion

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am studying Digital Signal Processing as an Engineering Course and the teacher came up with this assignment to present a practical application of the Chirp Z-Transform.

Now I know what it is... But I have no idea how it can be used practically in field. I have been Googling it and all I can find is definition and detail of Chirp Z-Transform. After a lot of searching, I have come to the conclusion that it is better to ask a human than wasting my time with string-matching search engines.

Now I know how the learned community at EDA Board feels about putting someone's homework up on the forum. But actually, this is not only my homework. I admit that when I started searching for it, it was only for the assignment and I wanted to get rid of with as soon as possible, whilst achieving a better grade.

But, as of now, I am not concerned at all with the assignment. I am more curious about how this could be applied to other sciences such as MRI or image processing.

I shall need help from fellow members at EDA Board in respect of theoretical details on how this algorithm makes life easier by getting implemented practically.

Kindly, if anyone passes by this thread and he knows and/or worked a little with Chirp Z-Transform in real world, please care to comment. I shall be duly grateful, because I hope that this will not only help me gather better material for presentation, but also satisfy my curiosity in the mentioned topic.