Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HFSS Airbox Function and Its Size

Status
Not open for further replies.

qqpost

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I'm new to HFSS and I have questions about the airbox. My understanding and questions are just as follows. Hope you can point out my fault and any discussion on the topic is welcomed.

As to my knowledge, the airbox is an artificial boundary that one set to separate the model structure with the outer perfect electric conductor(PEC). If there isn't an airbox, the structure will perform like inside a metal box and the electrical field will reflect when it touches the box, which not want to be seen in the simulation. So that's why we need a airbox that large enough to not infect the distribution of electric field. Also by defining a different sizes of airbox, we can decide the region that one need to solve the problem, which leads to the analysis time. The larger size of airbox, the longer time one needs. Is my understanding correct? Or you may have different opinions.

My question is about the size of the airbox. I saw in the HELP that the boundary should be located at least a quarter wavelength from the radiating source.Here is the example from the full book, CPW Fed Bowtie Antenna. I think everyone see it before.