Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using non blocking assignment for sequential code in Verilog

Status
Not open for further replies.

hallovipin

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am new to verilog. Whatever material I have across over a month , all suggest that we should always try to avoid using blocking assignment.
I know the literature says that we should use <= for sequential and = for combinational.
But can somebody make it clear how to write given code with the help of <=

module (a,b,c,d,step1,step2,final_value,clk);

input [7:0] a,b,c,d;
output reg step1, step2, final_value;

always @(posedge clk) begin
step1=a+b;
step2=step1+c-d;
final_value=final_value+step2;
end
end module

now problem is if we use <= in simulation I dont get proper values of final_value.

how to use <= at a place when calculated value of the above expression is fed back to the next expression; (as shown in code)

They say that <= prevents generation of race condition.
But what I found that if I carefully place = in the code it works better.

Why is it a SIN to use = in Verilog.

Please suggest can I use <= for above software.

For calculation of intermediate results, you obviously need blocking assignments.

You possibly noticed, that the intended operation can be written into a single assignment, omitting the step1 and step2 variables.

Using non-blocking assigments, the final result is calculated in the third clock cycle, step1 and step2 are acting as pipeline registers.

I won't say that this a wrong result, pipeline operation can be quite reasonable in some cases.

hallovipin