Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Variable speed control on a 12v DC motor that draws 40 amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blank Stare

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
12v variable speed motor

Hi there.

I am almost a complete newb to electronics, and I hope you will be patient with me, if I ask dumb questions, or offer irrelevant information...

I am building a control box for a salt spreader. The old controller is gone, and I don't want a new factory one, I want one that I can eventually take out of the project box, and mount in the dashboard.

Here are my parameters:

12 VDC up to 40 amp draw when starting the motor.
on/off switch
variable speed dial
variable speed over-ride, for a full speed surge.
50 amp relays (one is controlled by the main power switch, the other is controlled by the surge by-pass switch.
push button breakers, 10amp on the switch side, and 40 on the motor side.
Must be very simple, and cost under 100.00 US
project box is a double-gang electrical box. I will get dimensions when I can find my ruler - LOL!!!

In a nutshell, I have everything designed, and ready to install, when I found out that a rheostat would get too hot. It was suggested that I use a PWM MOSFET, and I think I understand the MOSFET is nothing more than a fancy power relay, but I do not understand how a PWM fits into the schematic?

dc variable speed controller

Think about PWM the same way as of average (power): 10% duty cycle =>10% power, 50% duty cycle => 50% power, and so on ..
Take a look at this example:
**broken link removed**