Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

forward converter (isolated buck converter dc-dc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

vgokhan

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
isolated buck converter

Hi. I am designing a forward converter. i am studying the circuit in this link. (page 9)

http://nptel.iitm.ac.in/courses/Webcourse-contents/IIT%20Kharagpur/Power%20Electronics/PDF/L-23(DP)(PE)%20((EE)NPTEL).pdf

The circuit must provide 5V DC beteen 0-4A. The literature about SMPS suggests to use continuous mode. But, to supply 5V without reload or with big reload (e.g 20ohm) requires to jump discontinuous mode. Because designing such a big coil is impossible. I am not sure about choosing proper LC filter. Because there will be two different calculations for two different modes. (LC filter and feed back cicuit as well) What do you suggest about the beginning of the calculations? [/img]

isolated forward converter

Usually the dimenioning is calculated for nominal maximum load with a fair (e. g. 30% of load current) ripple amplitude. The change to discontinous mode has to be accepted. You can use a synchronous rectifier with constant current ripple to avoid it.

isolated buck

Also, when using forward converters, a pre-load is usually used like 5% of the load to be in continuous mode. As you can see when you operate in discontinuous mode, there will be an oscillation at your output.

dc dc isolated forward converter