Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

filter for low voltage 3 phase BLDC motor - Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nikeplato

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
bldc motor wire length

Hello experts,

I have a 3 phase BLDC motor controller board: current is limited to 3A.
I am PWM ing the FETs at 20 KHz.
Motor inductance 4.5 mH, resistance 2Ohms.
Ta the radiated emisiions tests, the whole assembly is over the limits at 20 KHz, 700 KHz, 190 MHz and possible higher (the test is not over).
I have limited experience with the 3 phase BLDC motor.
Could anyone put me on the right track to design a filter to suppress motor noise, please?
I forgot to mention - when the motor is not activated (not driven) but just in stand by, the module passes the test, which would mean that the electronic circuit does pass but only the motor fails.

Thank you a lot.
I would apppreciate a timely answer.

bldc freewheel

in stand by, the module passes the test, which would mean that the electronic circuit does pass but only the motor fails

Yes I had guessed that, but the electronic circuit itself is the problem anyway as well as probably the wiring. Most likely it's not particular related to BLDC motor, could happen with any similar switched circuit.

The low frequency (20k and 700k) limit violations indicate to my opinion, that motor wiring and shielding/grounding is inappropriate. Depending on the application (cable length, motor mounting) this may acutally be difficult to achieve.