Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to increase voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

binary2007

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
how to increase voltage

Hi! I'm new to electronic design and I can't find out well. I have one simple task. Microcontroller produces PWM (10Hz-1000Hz) duty cycle can vary from 10% to 90%. This is not a problem because I am more programmer than electronic engineer. But that signal should be amplified in some way so I can get from 5V-45V voltage and current not more than 100mA. Is there any similar scheme that I can implement. Should I use transformer or it can be done without it.
Thanks in advance.

increase voltage

Hi binary2007,

Well, if you want to get up to 45 V from your 5 volts PWM source, you can always use an OP AMP and fix its gain to 9, ( u can manage to put a little pot in the feedback loop of the AMP for fine adjesting later on ). concerning the current a simple transistor will do the job. I recommend using a feedback of your output wich you will connect to your controller if this latter have any A/D converter, such a feedback will allow you to exactly match the request output voltage.
If this is what you're looking for i can draw a little schematic of the Idea.

Hope this Helps,

Hassen.

binary2007

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
increase voltage circuit

You can use a level shifter IC.

how to increase voltage output

Hi hassenman!

I would appreciate you draw me that scheme. Thank You. I think that might solve my problem.

voltage increase

I wouldn't use an op-amp for this, you have slew rates etc to worry about.