Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Optocoupler: CTR and REL_CTR; Use

Status
Not open for further replies.

Akanimo

Advanced Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone,

I am studying optocoupler for first-time use. I understand the CTR parameter but not the Relative CTR.
Please help with answers to these questions:

1. What is Relative CTR and what is it used for?

2. Is there a relationship between CTR and Relative CTR? If there is, what is the relationship?

3. I am designing a simple on/off control system with a process switch as sensor.
I require to isolate the field side (which has 15 Vdc process switch as input) from the controls side of the system (which has 5 Vdc).
I desire a cost effective optocoupler for the isolation and I chose the Vishay's TCMT4106. Below is the URL to and a picture of the datasheet and a picture of the schematic.

https://www.vishay.com/docs/84181/tcmt4100.pdf
EDABOARD.PNG
pic.jpg

Is this optocoupler appropriate for this requirement?

I could not locate the term Relative CTR in the datasheet; the meaning may be referred from the context.

If you really do not need the high frequency response you may use a transistor to switch on and off the IR LED (use the transistor ground side).

I didn't found and Relative CTR on the datasheet you provided, however the only time I heard about relative CTR was when mentioning the dregadation of the CTR, which happens after many hours of using the optocoupler.

Hi,

1) can not be answered, because you don't give enough information.

2)